Awards and Honors

  1. Ericsson Endowed Chair in Wireless Access Networks, May 2008
  2. Stephen O. Rice Prize Paper Award in the Field of Communication Systems for the paper “Network  Duality for Multiuser MIMO Beamforming Networks and Applications,” by B. Song, R. L. Cruz and B. D. Rao, appeared in the IEEE Transactions on Communications, Vol. 55, No. 3, March. 2007, pp. 618-630
  3. IEEE Fellow, 2000, for the Statistical Analysis of Subspace Algorithms for Harmonic Retrieval
  4. Best Paper Award for Y. Huang for the paper “Multicell Random Beamforming with CDF-based Scheduling: Exact Rate and Scaling Laws”, by Y. Huang and B. D. Rao at the Fall 2013, IEEE Vehicular Technology Conference (VTC), Sept. 2013.
  5. Best Paper Award at the Speech Coding Workshop, 2000,  for the paper A.D. Subramaniam and B. D. Rao, ”PDF Optimized Parametric Vector Quantization of Speech Line Spectral Frequencies”
  6. Best Student Paper Award at NIPS 2006 for David Wipf for the paper ”Analysis of Empirical Bayesian Methods for Neuroelectromagnetic Source Localization,” by D.P.Wipf, R.R. Ramrez, J.A. Palmer, S. Makeig, and B.D. Rao in Advances in Neural Information Processing Systems (NIPS), Dec. 2006
  7. Best Student Paper Award for Jun Zheng at ICASSP 2006 for the paper ”Capacity Analysis of Multiple Antenna Systems with Mismatched Channel Quantization Schemes,” by J. Zheng and B. D. Rao, IEEE International Conference on Acoustics, Speech, and Signal Processing (ICASSP), Tolouse, France, May. 2006
  8. Best Student Paper Award for Haichang Sui at ICASSP 2005 for the paper ”RAKE Finger Placement for CDMA Downlink Equalization,” by H. Sui, E. Masry and B. D. Rao, IEEE International Conference on Acoustics, Speech, and Signal Processing (ICASSP), Philadelphia, PA, Mar. 2005
  9. Best Student Paper Award for Shankar Shivappa at IEEE International Conference on Advanced Video and Signal Surveillance, for the paper – S. T. Shivappa, M. M. Trivedi and B. D. Rao, “Person Tracking With Audio-visual Cues Using the Iterative Decoding Framework”, Aug. 2008
  10. Best Student Paper Award for J. McCall and D. Wipf at the IEEE International Workshop on Machine Vision for Intelligent Vehicles (MVIV’05) held In conjunction with IEEE International Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition (CVPR’05) at San Diego, CA, Jun. 2005 for the paper ”Lane change intent analysis using robust operators and sparse Bayesian learning” by J. McCall, D. Wipf. M. Trivedi and B. D. Rao
  11. IBM Faculty Award, 2002
  12. Member of the EURASIP Signal Processing Editorial Board
  13. Member of the Signal Processing for Communications Technical committee of the IEEE Signal     Processing Society (2005-2008)
  14. Graduate Teaching Award, 1997-98, in recognition of outstanding teaching of a graduate class, awarded by Graduate Student Council, Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, University of California, San Diego.

Website Apps